Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against the Democratic Republic of the Congo

On 12 December 2016, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2016/2231in response to the obstruction of the electoral process and the related human rights violations in the DRC.

On 11 December 2017, it adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/2282 that extends the existing restrictive measures until 12 December 2018.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

1 – Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/2231 of 12 December 2016 amending Decision 2010/788/CFSP concerning restrictive    measures against the Democratic Republic of the Congo (OJ L 336I, 12.12.2016, p. 7).

* – The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.