Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries with Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/607 of 29 March 2017 concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Bosnia and Herzegovina

On 29 March 2017, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/607 [1]. The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures until 31 March 2018. The measures in question are asset freezes and travel bans against persons and entities whose activities undermine the sovereignty, territorial integrity, constitutional order and international personality of Bosnia and Herzegovina, seriously threaten the security situation in Bosnia and Herzegovina or undermine the Dayton/Paris General Framework Agreement for Peace and the Annexes thereto.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro* and Albania*, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 30.03.2017 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L84, p. 6.

*The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.