Horizon 2020: What is it and why is it important for Bosnia and Herzegovina

On 1st July, five Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia), and the Republic of Moldova secured full access to the European Union’s new seven-year research and innovation programme, Horizon 2020. The six countries signed association agreements in Brussels together with Robert-Jan Smits, Director-General for Research and Innovation at the European Commission. All six countries have experience in cooperation on research and innovation with the EU through the seventh framework programme (FP7), and are seeking to build on this under Horizon 2020.

For more information about Horizon 2020, see the videos below:

What is Horizon 2020

Why is Horizon 2020 important for BiH